Detailed Program of the Conference

Please select a date or location to show only sessions at that day or location. Please select a single session for a detailed view (with speakers and abstracts).

Overall view of the program
Location: Plenaries Room
Date: Wednesday, 02/June/2021
9:00am - 9:30amWelcome speech
Location: Plenaries Room

Speakers: The "Scuola Democratica" Board (Luciano Benadusi, Luca Salmieri, Assunta Viteritti)

Date: Thursday, 03/June/2021
4:45pm - 6:00pmPlenary - Keynote speech: Joe O’Hara - Noah Sobe
Location: Plenaries Room
Session Chair: Paolo Landri


  • Joe O'Hara (President of EERA): Back to the future? Exploring the role of educational research and its professional networks in times of transformation and transition
  • Noah Sobe (UNESCO and Loyola University of Chicago): Futures of Education: Using a horizon of 2050 and beyond to shape the future of humanity and the planet
6:15pm - 7:30pm?? Plenaria - "Scuola Democratica" incontra Patrizio Bianchi, il Ministro dell'Istruzione italiano
Location: Plenaries Room

Chair: Luciano BenadusiVittorio Campione

RelatorePatrizio Bianchi (Ministro dell'Istruzione italiano)

Date: Friday, 04/June/2021
11:30am - 12:15pmPlenary - Keynote speech: Andreas Schleicher
Location: Plenaries Room

Chair: Annamaria Ajello

SpeakerAndreas Schleicher (OECD): Educating learners for their future, not our past

Date: Saturday, 05/June/2021
11:30am - 12:00pmPlenary - Keynote speech: Christian Laval
Location: Plenaries Room

Chair: Marco Pitzalis

SpeakerChristian Laval (University of Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense): Urgency of Democratic Education

3:30pm - 4:00pmPlenary - Keynote speech: Nadia Urbinati
Location: Plenaries Room

Chair: Alessandro Cavalli

Speaker: Nadia Urbinati (Columbia University): Thinking in the making: public action and political decision in democratic society

6:30pm - 6:45pmClosing: Towards the Third International Conference of "Scuola Democratica"
Location: Plenaries Room
Session Chair: Luciano Benadusi
Session Chair: Luca Salmieri
Session Chair: Assunta Viteritti