Topic: Conference is booked out: waiting list for interested persons  (Read 86448 times)

Our conference is fully booked. We have to close participant registration.

Is there any way how we can keep a waiting list with ConfTool Pro for people who also want to participate?

(A German version of this article is available.)

The system does not really provide a waiting list, but you can use the "Registration of Prospective Participants" (registration of people who are interested in the event) for such a requirement, if you do not use that already for other purposes.

1. Please go to:
Overview => Settings => Conference Phases and Deadlines
and disable the registration of new users and the registration of participants (both!), so people cannot register any more as users and as participants for your conference.


2. Now go to:

Overview => Settings => Settings for Users Registration and User Options => Registration of Prospective Participants

Enable the option "Enable prospective participant form", which will activate the registration link for prosepctive participants on the log-in page.
Set "Reveal Account Data" to "No" if you do not want to send them the log-in details with their confirmation e-mail.
Please also enter an URL to which users will be returned after submitting their registration.


3. Adapt the Wordings and Phrases according to your requirements:

Overview => Settings => Wordings and Phrases

A) Search for "REGISTER_PROSPECT" to change the wordings of the registration form to change this to a waiting list.
Example:
"Please register below to get the latest news on "%1". Your data will be treated confidentially and not be used for other purposes." has to be changed to
"Please enter your details below to enroll for the waiting list for "%1". We will contact you if a space becomes available. This enrollment is not binding.
Your data will be treated confidentially and not be used for other purposes."

B) Search for "EMAIL_PROSPECT" to update the wordings for the e-mails sent to the participants.

Please test your settings by doing some example registrations.

If you want to allow selected persons to register for participation, follow these steps.

Please go to:

Overview => Settings => Settings for User Registration => Main Setup for User Registration and Management

... scroll down to "Settings of Specific User Rights" and activate the option
"Show user statuses "Approved to submit" and "Approved to participate"

Now you can give users the status "Approved to Participate" when you edit their user details. Users with this status can register even if the participant registration phase is disabled.

Now send them their login details so they can log in and register as participants.